Thing 6 – Twitter and Jaiku

by

What do you think about microblogging?

http://marylandlearning.pbwiki.com/Twitter+and+Jaiku

59 Responses to “Thing 6 – Twitter and Jaiku”

  1. dragonfly27 Says:

    I was excited to explore Twitter and indeed, it is very interesting. It occurred to me that following people on Twitter is almost like being a voyeur in someone’s life……and likewise, having people look in on your own. Why do we find people’s thoughts so fascinating? What makes us think that others care what we are thinking? As we continue to explore Learning 2.1, creating accounts, inviting people into our lives, I think it brings a lot of issues to light, such as one’s own privacy. In the back of my mind, I am always concerned about the protection of myself and my family. I mean, how hard would it be for someone to follow my accounts and tap into them? My husband had already had his credit card number stolen online. I have a relative that is currently being stalked by e-mail. There is real danger in just being “out there.” What is the balance between being connected, and being vulnerable?

  2. westernmdjennifer Says:

    Who has time to microblog? That was my first impression when I heard about Twitter. We attempted to use Twitter at the MLA conference in May and integrated it into the virtual conference community. Of course some techy people like Maurice used it, but on the whole it wasn’t used much from conference go-ers. Perhaps people were too busy on-site to Twitter or maybe they just hadn’t learned about it yet.
    I can definitely see the appeal of Twitter to some, especially since you can update from your cell phone while you’re on the go. However, I don’t think this is a feature that I’ll use personally. When I’m not at work I feel the need to un-plug and recharge my energies. I can see how this would be a great feature for those who follow a topic regularly, are reporting back from a conference, or just love to be tuned-in to things 24/7. I’m a Facebook user and they have a similar microblog feature that I rarely use. I guess I figure – who cares if I’m having a cup of coffee right now?

  3. Regina Spiker Says:

    http://asmalllibraryinasmalltown.blogspot.com/2008/10/twitter.html

  4. Amanda W Says:

    I am also the type of person who enjoys my privacy…and could personally care less about what other people are doing. When I get home, I am busy and try to avoid the computer at all costs. I can’t see how people can get into a service like this, is there that much time during the day that one feels the need to update the world on their life? I guess I’m just not the bloggy type.

  5. ReluctantBlogger Says:

    I have to admit I spent little time exploring Twitter, because I felt it was a waste of time. I’m not going to post any updates about myself, and I really don’t want to read about mundane stuff that some twitter users might be doing. And some of this mundane stuff doesn’t seem like something worth reading or writing about. I visited the White House twitter page and was a little annoyed that none of their twitter entries were written in complete sentences — why microblog if you can’t fit into the alotted 140 characters, it sounds like you need a full blown blog. The MarylandLearning wiki says something about it being faster than RSS feeds, but then don’t you have to be on twitter page for that? Or is it delivered to your phone? I don’t use my phone for any kind of internet connection, so I might be a little behind in grasping all the capabilities and the potential Twitter has if you do that. I’m trying to think outside the box and find a creative way I might be able to use Twitter, but nothing comes to mind. I did like their little video, I thought it was cute.

  6. forestlover Says:

    I set up an account with Twitter and I have to say, this is not a site I will be using in my library work. I attempted connections to Maurice Coleman, Free Range Librarian, Jenny Levine, PBS, and CNN. I was immediately connected to Jenny Levine, CNN, and PBS. I had to be invited to connect with Maurice Coleman and the Free Range Librarian. When I tried to connect with PBS I had to scroll through 14 people before I could reach PBS. I just don’t see the point of connecting with others by short entries on a minute by minute basis. I really don’t want to know what someone is doing every minute and I don’t want to report what I’m doing either. I lead a very busy life and enjoy living rather than reporting my every thought and deed or reading about someone else’s. This site is not one that I personally find very useful.

  7. sunflower Says:

    Seems like “Twitter” would especially appeal to the under 25 crowd who want to know what their friends are doing 24/7. I enjoyed learning about “Twitter” and “jaiku” and found it informative to know how “tuned in” we can be to the little things between the blog and email. I’m not sure how I’d use these with my job but it sure is fun to learn about.

  8. D. Sebly Says:

    What I’d like to do is get connected to my children and then twitter constantly with them and drive them crazy. I can hear them now – “Mom, we really don’t want to hear that you’re going to another staff meeting,” or “Stop! Nobody cares that you went to Starbucks this morning…no wonder you’re twittering constantly. Stop right and don’t twitter again!!” I guess that might be over 140 characters, so they’d probably call me rather than twitter me. So I can see some uses for this and I actually think I might get into it, but only for my personal life, not the professional one. However, I do think just knowing what it is and how it works is the important thing here.

  9. Virginia Hyde Says:

    I was not able to connect with Twitter or Jaiku. I watched the u-tube presentation. I tried at three different locations. Will try again at another time

  10. beachylibrarian Says:

    I guess I agree with the majority of posters – this is something that I would not use personally, and really can’t envision a solid use at work. I think it feeds into our narcissistic society mindset that imagines that every single mundane thing we do is of interest to others. No one I know has time to log on (or check their cell phone) to find out what 50 of their closest friends had for lunch. People ARE looking for connections to others – but it’s a shame that emails are seen as too much trouble or too time consuming. I did speak to a younger staff member who stated that she thought Twitter was a dumb idea at first, but soon got hooked on it. Must be like reading the comments section on MSNBC.

  11. Jo Says:

    Twitter is pretty darn entertaining…

    http://postingsfromlibraryland.blogspot.com/2008/10/im-all-atwitter.html

  12. processingwoman Says:

    Well, I’ve read Twitter and to be honest i’m not very impressed. I personally don’t have time or the desire to send out messages all the time to anyone and everyone. To me it’s just anyother way of being by yourself. And who wants to always be on a phone or their computer all the time?! I have to many personal items on my plate to have to worry about texting my day all the time. But, on the other hand, I guess if your world revolves around your cell phone and computer I guess this is a great tool to use.

  13. John Says:

    Unless I could get twitter to run on the side of my desktop, I would continuously forget to use it. Plus I am pretty sure my daily events are pretty mundane. (not to mention my atrocious typing skills) It appears to be a shortened version of a blog, but I have a hard time answering the question what are you doing ? once a day much less 200 times a day.

    I understand that twitter became the latest killer app at a south by southwest music festival several years ago. It was used by conference attendees to post what bands were playing and where. Since at SXSW bands just show up in play at the clubs later in the evening, it was the best way find out who was playing where.

    But I still can’t find a close fit to the library mission yet. But perhaps we could test it as a substitute for IM at our branches?

    I liked the elections.twitter.com site as it scrolls any and all comments from all sides about the elections and candidates. It was fun to watch during the debates and everyone flamed everyone else and their candidate. Kind of a snapshot of of opinion.
    If you feel like connecting I am johntaube on twitter.

  14. ABG Julia's Blog Says:

    Like some of the previous blogs, I am hard pressed for time most days & trying to blog never mind mini-blog is something I don’t have much time to do. I wonder why some people think that we need to be in constant communication & not only that but that when we are, we are not saying anything either of any interest or value. At one time people used to write letters, and yes it was a slow and possibly laborious process, but you had to think before you wrote, so that what you wrote was considered. Now anyone with a phone or computer can write any old rubbish to the whole world. There is just this phenomenal overload of trash. I can see how one might become addicted to any of this, Facebook, MySpace, Blogger, Twitter, just as people become addicted to reality shows and other nonsense. If this is how you want to spend your life all well & good, & Twittter & Jaiku will help you do that, but please find some time for face to face contact, for a hug for or from a friend, a walk with the dog, a run in the park.

  15. Joseph Berger Says:

    Twitter is the perfect platform for getting your library’s vital information across quickly and succinctly to users of portable devices such as wireless laptops, Blackberries and cell phones.

    I was surprised that just a few library systems have created Twitter pages so far. Here are the notable ones:

    Birmingham PL

    http://twitter.com/bpl

    Cleveland PL

    http://twitter.com/Cleveland_PL

    Indianapolis Marion County PL “Teen Scene”

    http://twitter.com/imcplteens

    Oshkosh PL

    http://twitter.com/oshkoshlibrary

  16. milt Says:

    Hmmm, I wasn’t really a huge fan of Twittter. It just seems a bit unnecessary. If someone wants to send someone else a message, it would be just as easy to send an email or instant message. I can’t really see how we would have a need for it here at the library.

    Jaiku is pretty much the same thing and like Twitter, you can send your messages to your contacts cellphone’s as an instant message.

    I never really got into blogging (although I read a lot of music blogs), so I can’t say that these two sites really interest me.

  17. Michelle_N Says:

    I’m with everyone else. Have no interest in wasting my time typing my day or reading about someone else’s. It amazes me that so many people do this. When do they spend time living life instead of blogging, twittering and telling everyone else about it?

  18. rosesmom Says:

    I spent the least amount of time on this one. I, too, agree with other comments. I signed up and tried to add some contacts. It kept telling me something was disabled. So. I gave up. I don’t have time to microblog and it’s so much quicker for me to IM somebody. I think young people would enjoy it. I don’t even like my cell phone!

  19. shannonmc Says:

    I too like other posts here am not impressed by Twitter. I was left with the question of “who cares”. I am not that plugged into the latest technology as it and a service like Twitter just does not appeal. My daily life is rather consumed by work and my kids so I am sure others are not interested. I, in turn, am not interested in others and “what they are doing right now”. While I was monitoring one feed, I think it was for “rock the vote”, and it was interesting to see how fast the updates were coming in. Overall, this is not something I would seek out to use.

  20. Rusty Says:

    I agree with the majority of comment makers on this one. I personally won’t be using Twitter. I do not want to type 140 or less character updates regularly or read them either. Even though I created an account, I did not make it open to the whole world, only people I know. I agree with the person who said it sems voyeuristic and I don’t like the fact that people I don’t know would be reading my personal info. I’m not an avid cell phone user either. I only use the thing when it’s necessary so connecting that way with Twitter wouldn’t make any sense to me. On the “Invite from other networks” tab, only email @hotmail, yahoo, AOL, MSN & GMail were listed and I have none of the above. I did invite friends whose hcpl email addresses I knew. When I tried using the Search tab for Are Your Friends on Twitter?, I got the message that “This feature is temporarily disabled.” Alas, the reality of technology! Twitter might be helpful for library staff folks that are connected with groups all over the state; but then couldn’t they just put themselves in a group email contact list and accomplish the same thing plus use more than 140 characters if they wanted?

  21. AMartin Says:

    http://amysbloggertestblog.blogspot.com/2008/10/md-learning-21-thing-6-twitter.html
    Thanks!

  22. Jessnhem Says:

    At first I was really excited to learn about Twitter, because I have heard about it before. After registering my excitement quickly diminished. As with everyone else, I have little time to constantly update my status, and anyone I really care to have knowing what I am doing has my cell phone number, so they can pretty much always find me.

    When I tried to search for friends the site was having technical difficulties. But, I did find 3 friends using my email account.

    Jaiku did seem a bit more interesting because it seemed to have a more international base, but I didn’t sign up for it.

  23. LibraryLady Says:

    I spent several minutes trying to come up with something positive to say about twitter….. [imagine crickets chirping]….

    I don’t see the point. I am really not interested in the minute by mintue life of anyone. I read others comments and I do suppose if you spend enough time sorting through the posts, you might find some gems, but I don’t have time for that. When I need info, I seek it out, I don’t wait for it to come to me in tiny bits and bites. Seems like more junk food for the screen. I am always trying to clear out time wasting clutter from my life and this seems like something easy to cut….
    Sorry if this sounds harsh…

  24. InsaneLibraryLady Says:

    Twitter gave me a headache…… I set up an account but couldn’t connect with anyone because it kept telling me that something was disabled at this time. Personally I don’t have the time to micro-blog and I agree that this would be for the 20 somethings not an old fogey like me who has to make wise use of the little free time that I have. At my job, I wouldn’t have a need for this even to get info back and forth quickly to my coworkers.

  25. PeggyM Says:

    I must say this was not a product that would be very useful for me. I rather use text messaging on my phone. I agree with many others that there is no time and some weeks the time to respond to 2.1 is very limited. The concept of how to apply the use of this program to libraries was hard to conceive. If time permits I will search the libraries that use the product.

  26. jodielynn Says:

    In the September 1st Library Journal, Roy Tennant wrote that twitter is, “a method by which those who believe their every move should be of great interest to others can inflict such details on a self-selected set of masochistic persons called, in and oddly religious allusion, followers.”

    I couldn’t agree more! Nobody cares what I do every minute of the day and I don’t care what anyone else is doing every minute of the day. I’m all for new technologies and being open to our changing world and culture but I have to draw the line at twitter. What a piece of self-aggrandizing crap. Twitter just seems like a method to build a shrine to yourself. I remember that back in college we used to leave detailed away messages on our IM accounts so our friends would know what we were doing and why we weren’t available at that moment. We would also leave messages on our doors explaining where we were if we left our rooms. For some reason we thought it was very important for our friends to know exactly where we were at every minute of the day. Once I graduated from college I got over that phase and learned to value my privacy. I don’t think use of this kind of technology is generational as much as it is stage-of-life. I used to use the same technology the teens are using now in the same way but I don’t use them anymore. Having a career and a house and a busy life doesn’t lend itself to IMing and updating myspace all the time. My friends have also made these changes.
    This comment turned out to be a lot longer than I intended…I guess I should stop my ranting.

  27. Michelle Sebly Says:

    I enjoyed Twitter to toy with for a bit today… but I also would not need this for either my personal or professional life.

    I did like Aunt Donna’s suggestion about keeping connected to kids that way, but I have Myspace and a telephone and an email for that. I do enjoy blogging when I get a chance, and the Myspace status area fills the same use as Twitter …. I have no need of anything else.

    It was easy to set up an account; I liked that about it.

    I enjoyed the FAQs but didn’t read them in depth as I was pretty sure I had not intention of ever needing in depth knowledge about it.

    I set up to follow my Aunt Donna, Amanda from my library, and one of my mother’s co-workers who is a techie freak, looked at who he was following and found one of his friends who is a techie freak, and some cute guy named Gruber who I am also now following. Even though I don’t plan on ever logging in again. : )

    I don’t have a cell phone; even if I did, I would not want to be so connected. That’s exactly why I don’t have one, first it costs money and I refuse to budget for it, secondly, I don’t WANT to be so intimately connected, even just through a phone. And likewise, Twitter. I am connected enough through the internet email and blogosphere.

    I also agree with what was said about narcissism … I think you’d have to be awfully vain to really need everyone to know what cereal you were eating at any given moment.

    what vanity I do possess…. is satisfied by myspace.

    This was fun, though.

    Maybe for the younger generations.

  28. Mally Says:

    I am not interested in Twitter or the other site, mainly due to privacy issues.
    I also don’t want to be tied to a site that asks for minute-by-minute updates.
    If I were in a group at the library and we needed to keep in touch for a specific purpose such as setting up an event, it might be useful.

  29. Janet Says:

    Latest: At this moment I am on desk on this Halloween Day and the branch is beginning to become busy with customers. I finally was able to get into twitter. I don’t have a mobile, what happens next. Sorry.

  30. Richard Says:

    O.k., this was interesting. I’m not a fan of blogs but I set up the account, invited a few folks (none of my yahoo contacts are registered apparently), found some people (but chose to follow one), updated my status and added a fine jpeg of myself. The political posts were rather interesting and not filled with the usual misspellings and juvenile chit chat. I see it could be used as a political tool given so many members mention a local rally for some candidate, etc. Will I use it? That depends on how popular it becomes.

  31. HeatherTowers Says:

    Twitter is fun! I like this website and many other social networking sites. I think there is a huge generational gap in these type of services and the people that enjoy them. I am not against people not liking it but I find it very humorous that the people that don’t describe the people that do as sort of “crazy”, “sick” or “confused” for using this service.

    I was a twitter user before this training and I follow others on twitter. I don’t twitter fifty times a day but I do twitter a few times a week. If I was younger and less busy with responsible life, I would probably twitter more often.

  32. Ponyahhn Says:

    I will have to agree with most of the comments about twitter and say that I don’t see any potential use for it for myself. None of my friends or family are on twitter that I know of. I looked at some of the twitter accounts from CNN, etc. and found them seriously lacking in terms of content.

    I did read a news story last year about an American who was arrested in Egypt and managed to twitter that he had been arrested. Everyone seemed to think that he was able to get released from jail much faster because people on the outside knew what had happened to him. I also could see a benefit to librarians who work with teens and young adults using twitter, if only to reach out using all of the latest technology.

  33. sunshine Says:

    I experimented with Twitter and have to say once again I am not a fan of telling all what I’m doing, where I am & connect to “friends” in this way. It was interesting to see other libraries that utilize it for purposes to alert interested customers.

  34. Etta Place Says:

    I attended the virtual PLA conference and the presenters from Columbus Library did’t show. Some poor tech person had to fill in for them. She told us about twitter. Then I felt like most of the others here. I really didn’t get it. Now I have a greater appreciation for twitter. I think it’s because I’ve spent some time on MySpace and understand the social communities a bit more.

    I set up my twitter account, did an update and read the FAQs. I found some people to follow. I looked at who they were following and added a few more to my list, Dave Letterman, Bill & Hillary Clinton. Then I decided to follow some of the news orgs and there was a special one for election day, Election 2008 powered by twitter. It had a lot of action and was pretty interesting to read.

    If it would have been another day I don’t think it would have been quite so interesting. The fact that it was election day made it a perfect day to explore twitter. There were comments from all over the world in many languages.

    The down side to twitter is that I work in a very twitter-like environment. We have a lot of self talk that comes out in micro blurbs as people pass thru my work space. You never know who they are talking to, either you or themselves. It’s very distracting to have to tune in to see if the info is for you or not. When it’s not for you, it’s some little thing for themselves that no one else really cares about. It’s very disruptive and makes concentration a task. It’s basically thinking out loud.

    In conclusion, I prefer twitter that I can read, not that I can hear!

  35. Etta Place Says:

    I watched Colbert Twitter on election night with Jon Stewart. He also mentioned tweeting! Of course Jon had no clue what Steven was doing. It was pretty funny. My husband never heard of twittering, so I had to explain it. Very timely!

  36. Etta Place Says:

    I had a creepy experience with Twitter. Some creepy blue guy signed up to follow me 3 times. I went on his site and he had a crazy message about truth. He only had 3 updates and was following lots of people. The last time I was notified that he was following me, I went to his site and he had been suspended for suspicious activity. I blocked him and emailed my experience to the Twitter peeps. It was very creepy! First time I had a negative experience on any of these things! Just wanted to let you all know.

  37. Gentlewinds Says:

    I experimented with Twitter and enjoyed seeing how others are using it. This could be a wonderful tool to communicate with the “under 25″ group. Could also be useful to keep track of progress for a team that is working on a project from different locations. Will keep this in mind for the future but see no immediate use of it for myself.

  38. DBennett Says:

    Again, I don’t have any personal interest in twittering at this time. I visited several of the Twitter sites you suggested. It has certainly caught everyone’s attention, even the federal gov. I liked NPR’s and YALSA’s twitter site. I enjoyed Twitter’s blog with the Comedy Central video clip about blogging and twittering. Obama will be the first US Pres to have a Twitter account. Might be some use in connecting our libraries with our younger customers, who may use us mostly virtually.

  39. Cecelia Robeson Says:

    I wasn’t sure what to expect from Twitter. I didn’t like the idea of sending out tiny little updates about mundane activities as I go through my day, but I signed up for a Twitter account. The search feature allowing you to find people to follow didn’t seem to be working when I was exploring Twitter so I just decided to follow CNN, the White House and NPR. I tried to imagine how Twitter might be of use in my library setting but the only scenario I could come up with was as a tool for committee members working on a project. It might be possible for them to keep in touch through Twitter and share their work through the use of URL’s. I’m not certain that it would be any better than instant messaging or regular old fashioned email, especially since the updates only allow for 140 characters. Still I’m glad I explored the site, since I’ve been hearing a lot about it of late.

  40. CSmith Says:

    I signed up for the Twitter account. The “find people” function was not working when I tried it. I am glad that I figured out what it was. I had not a clue what “twittering” meant. now I know. I think it should be “fritter” instead of “twitter” as in, frittering your time away? anyway–as I am not in the habit of tracking my every move throughout the day, I doubt very much that I will use this on a personal basis. work? maybe an online bookclub could be devised where people twitter back and forth about a book they’ve read–maybe a teen book club. the thing is, you have to be 13 to sign up for this. maybe the library could have their own little Twitter account and people twitter us for book comments…just brainstorming…

  41. Spero Says:

    If there’s something quick to remember or say do it with twitter! I am looking forward to NPRs twitter feed, as I just added it to my list!

  42. Rainey Says:

    I learned about twitter in learning 2.0 and I have an account. Recently, though I looked into JAIKU and found creating an activity stream fun and exciteing; but I won’t use it personally. Wow, another share site. Give me a break:| With that said, I was pleasantly surprised to fine a channel there devoted to ‘Second Life’. Surprise, surprise. I was also surprised to find out that the bald geek was following 120 people on twitter. Lots of time well spent!

  43. JackieCassidy Says:

    Twitter…ahh the possibilities. Twitter is all about bytes of information. In terms of the library, use this personally to keep up with what’s happening easily. For programming, the library could create its own microblog to alert patrons of events, accomplishments, news, etc. What if we could make this more visible? What would it look like? What patrons would use it? Lots of possibilities…

  44. Frogonablog Says:

    I find sites like Twitter very time intensive- time I do not have to waste on comments that don’t add anything useful to my already packed day. I don’t have a cell phone with messages. I don’t read e-mail except at work. I use my computer as a tool for easy banking and investing, but if I want to interact with people I go out into my community, neighborhood, and family and try to be continously, personally interactive with them. Teens and young adults possibly substitute this kind of interaction for real-time, face to face emotion and substance. A very scary thought

  45. Sherry Dickens Says:

    I started an account with “twitter” I found a patron and surprisingly I found a person from Ireland whom I just exchanged books with on book mooch. Twitter seems like a fun tool for those who are technologically addicted but I’m kind of like forestlover; I just don’t want to know what other people are doing every minute of the day. I look at this like I look at facebook; I’ll go into it every few days just to touch base with those I know.

  46. Mysterylover Says:

    It took me a while to figure out how to search to follow someone as that feature is temporarily not working properly. However, I was finally able to find someone and play with the Follow feature.
    I have to agree with the majority of comments I was reading about how this is one more form of social networking…but is it really necessary? I have no desire to update my daily life for all the world to see several times a day. I also found it disturbing that one person commenting on this blog was being followed by someone who later on lost their twitter privileges. I don’t see the need to put myself out there, and take that kind of risk just so I can let people know that I just ate lunch! I also don’t have the time to invest in twittering. I think that we already suffer from an overload of information and have no interest in adding to that over-stimulation. So, I guess I won’t be a twitterer at this point in time. But, it’s good to know what’ out there!

  47. bookbliss Says:

    Add me to the list of those who said they really couldn’t see the point of blogging about every little detail of one’s life. But hey, if some people really enjoy doing that, then go for it! Twitter is probably not something I will use in my personal life, but if it became useful in library land I would give it a shot. Maybe it could be used with some kind of passive Young Adult program? Someone else mentioned libraries using Twitter to alert patrons about various things. I can see how that might make good use of this technology, and if enough patrons are interested in participating, it might be something worthwhile to consider.

  48. KristinB Says:

    I guess things like Twitter and Jaiku remind me of status updates on Facebook, which are sometimes enough to worry about (if you care to take the time to update that). I did sign up for Twitter and by going around the search for friends feature, I managed to find and “follow” some of my friends. I found one and managed to follow her to other friends. It does make it easy to find and “follow” people when they are all friends with each other! As far as using it in my library? I don’t see it as being a very useful thing. Other than if I want to try to look busy when I’m actually doing nothing. But really, maybe if I needed to do a quick update at a library conference, but that would only be useful if I was following fellow librarians, which, at this point, I am not. I just don’t see this as being something that I need to use on a daily basis, but it is good to know is out there.

  49. Ann Drake Says:

    Well, I did spend some time exploring Twitter and all I want to say is, “People, get a life!” I can see that there might be someone who is a micromanager, and interested in the small details of another person’s life, but it seems like the function of this website is to justify it’s existence by pointing out all of the small things someone else might be interested in. It is almost like stalking. Imagine all the other things you could do, including read a book, while you are reading on your computer or cell phone that someone is drinking a cup of coffee. Or you could have the teeny, weeny details of your life exposed to people who are “following” you. As I am not into social networking at all, I guess I just don’t get the connection.

  50. sandyr Says:

    I know that Twitter has become a very popular communication tool, but like most of the others who commented here, I find it to be way too much in terms of time required and information transmitted. I can’t imagine how people have the time or the interest in communicating so constantly and in such detail with so many others! I can totally understand how the news outlets would find it useful, and perhaps there would be ways of making it applicable to a library setting, however I find Twitter more of a burden than a benefit.

  51. Jeanne Trice Says:

    Wow; I really find the whole idea of Twitter intrusive and time-consuming. I guess it has a place if you need information from a specific source right now, and I guess as an information source, we could find that a good fit at some point, if we had accounts with the right sources, but fir now I am just not a fan.

  52. Lisamck Says:

    I guess we’re all a-twitter about these kinds of sites with the era of reality television. When is sharing of information too much information? I’m not seeing the benefit of everyone knowing that I just left to go out for an ice cream.

  53. Jeri Says:

    I created yet another account and tried twitter. After just recently being forced to look at my facebook at least once a week by long distance firends, an account which I have had for over a year, I’m pretty sure twitter will not be added to my repertoire. I like the idea – but the idea seems to be appearing over and over again. Dreaming of one place to go for all of the 2.0 and 2.1 features all rolled into one. It’s all just too much – I have to go outside and play now.

  54. Pam Says:

    I am not a fan of blogging let alone microblogging. Still, it is good to know what is out there…. Young people would probably use this more. Both of my children use the social networking sites available and would probably find this one interesting.

  55. lindalu Says:

    I don’t quite “get” microblogging. I was helped a little by all of the use of Twitter that I heard about in the weeks leading up to the election and then on election day itself. That people could make the quick notes to report on issues and problems with voting started to shed some light on the value of microblogging.

    On a day-to-day basis, however, I’m unlikely to use my Twitter account to send short messages or monitor others. Something about being followed or following bothers me. . . maybe I need to give it more of a chance — in 140 characters or less.

  56. Janice Says:

    Yikes, not another thing to check/read/update – not only daily, but hourly? I’m not that efficient. I looked at the FreeRangeLibrarian – she must be in overdrive all the time with this, blogging, travelling, etc. etc. I searched for the names of some folks I know and found 2. One has never posted anything and the other hasn’t posted since July 2007. I have a sense of being a bit voyeuristic (hope I never catch someone in the bathroom -haha).

  57. Maryland Says:

    Sorry, not a fan. Who cares if I’m having breakfast or spilled my coffee or am actually working instead of telling everyone who has nothing else to do that I’m working. Again, I’m not a “Social Networking” site kind of person. I’d rather call or do my networking face-to-face. Just too old for this I suppose. I cannot for the life of me see how this would be a good thing for my library.

  58. Accidental Librarian Says:

    I’m with the majority on this. I don’t see the point. I chose Ashton Kutcher to follow so as to follow someone other than Maurice or the media and frankly, now I think he is more like “Kelso” in real life than I would have thought. I know no one on twitter, my kids do their updating on Facebook as do most people I know. I sure don’t see a use for it in the library world. I don’t think anyone cares what I am doing either.

  59. twitter to provide learning methods « layla Says:

    […] way of using micro blogging in classrooms. The two examples of micro blogging sites are twitter and jaiku, although twitter is the most commonly used for educations […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

